Knee Story

Total knee replacement – sharing my experience

7 Weeks after the TKR Surgery

Still walking around the house with no walker, cane, etc.

I find that now when I am out walking around the neighborhood with my walker, my non-operated knee is acting up and causing pain, both during the walk and when I get back.

I started using ice in the evening if I have muscle pain in the thigh and/or knee and it’s very helpful. But I have to turn up the heat first; otherwise it’s too cold for me.

I usually take the pain meds once a day, in the evening. And maybe one extra time in the late afternoon.

A little nervous about the follow-up clinic I am going to at the hospital tomorrow. My fear? That some orthopedist will force my knee into some position that will be painful. My physical therapist recommended that I make a list of questions; haven’t gotten to it yet.

8 responses to “7 Weeks after the TKR Surgery

  1. Vipergirl February 12, 2012 at 11:05 pm

    I am at 6 wks s/p TKR. I am using a cane due to the snow. I have 125 deg flex and -7 deg ext. Therapy 3 x a week. I am hoping I get better endurance, strength and flexibility soon. I am not driving yet..when did they allow you to drive? I am also have pain mainly during PT. But I found not to do so much at home and that has helped tremendously. I also am frustrated with my progress when it coms to edema and extension. Have any suggestions for extension? Am I progressing compared to average.

    • fayjulia February 13, 2012 at 10:18 am

      Hi Vipergirl,

      Sounds like you’re doing great at 6 weeks. Your flexion sounds very good. I have no idea about how to improve the extension. I’m not driving yet, but will probably get my doctor’s approval soon since I have a left TKR anyway. Which knee did you have done? Don’t worry about comparing yourself to others – everyone’s progress is different!

      It’s good that you’ve been resting; it’s very important to rest so that your body can heal after this major surgery. If you have swelling, you should consider keeping your leg elevated and applying ice. There are a lot of articles and posts about this on the Bonesmart website and forum.

      Regarding the pain during physical therapy, I advise that you tell your physical therapist to stop hurting you! Pain can cause more swelling which slows everything down. If the physical therapist won’t cooperate, shop around for one who will!

    • Jay November 6, 2012 at 1:32 pm

      Hi viper girl
      From what I am reading on this site I am one of the lucky ones.
      This is my seventh week, no walker, cane only outside and no pain for the last two weeks.
      My PT started me the first day I was home with 3 exercises from a list of 14 to be done 3 times a day 10 reps each. She returned every week adding more till we have now reached all 14. The TKR was my left foot so I was driving after 4 weeks. I give credit to my wife who made sure I did my exercises, believe me there where many times I could have strangled her, my TP and surgeon. One can not stress the importance of those exercises 3 times a day 10 reps each. I have been told by my PT to continue these exercises plus adding daily routine on a slow basis for the next 3 months to achieve a full recovery.

      Jay

      • fayjulia November 7, 2012 at 8:40 am

        Hi Jay,

        Sounds like your recovery is going well. That’s great!
        Physical therapy is good as long as you are not pushed to the point of pain.
        Keep up the good work!

    • David January 17, 2013 at 7:00 am

      You are not doing too bad. I am almost 6 weeks and have 126 and 15 deg. Had 5 deg when I got out of the hosp but regressed and am not happy about that. I keep hearing manipulation etc and do not want to go back to the Hospital I was driving my truck in2 1/2 weeks but it is an automatic and my surgery was on my left knee so I was fortunate there. I am a tough guy but this hs really brought me to my knees. Have never had such pain and suffering. Hope you continue to do well, as I know some days are just so hard you want to scream, Good luck

      • fayjulia January 17, 2013 at 7:45 am

        Hi David,

        I hope you are getting the proper pain meds. Please check with your doctor if you are having pain. If your doctor won’t prescribe something strong (such as Tramadol), you might want to get a second opinion. You’re still very early in the game and you should be resting a lot and not pushing yourself too much. Good luck! Let me know how you’re doing.

  2. Geri December 16, 2014 at 8:09 pm

    I had my total knee replacement done on October 30, 2014 where should I be after 7 1/2 weeks of therapy with my collection as of now with help pushing I am at103° is this bad or good and will it improve with further treatment

    • fayjulia December 17, 2014 at 1:23 pm

      Hi Geri,

      Everyone progresses at a different pace. There’s no such thing as “bad.” 7.5 weeks is still very early in your recovery. Keep gently flexing and stretching and you will continue seeing improvement for months, even years. I recommend joining the wonderful knee forum at Bone Smart: http://www.bonesmart.org. There you can see how different each person’s experience is, and also you will get lots of support for any questions you may have.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

